Your Elected Members

The Local Government Act 1999 prescribes the legal framework which gives Councils the power to make local laws and also determines the roles and responsibilities of the elected representatives. The Mayor and nine Councillors serve four year terms, and set the strategic direction of the Council. The Mayor is chair of the Council meetings, ensuring Council decisions are implemented, and also represents Kangaroo Island at government, civic and ceremonial functions.

For more information and contact details for your elected members, please click here or on the individual names below the photo.

Elected Members 2014

(Left to right) Clr Graeme Connell (resigned), Clr Ken Liu, Clr Graeme Ricketts, Clr Peter Denholm, Clr Cathie Tydeman, Andrew Boardman (CEO),
Mayor Peter Clements, Deputy Mayor Larry Turner, Clr Pip Masters, Clr Joy Willson, Clr Sharon Kauppila and Ted Botham (Director Council Services)

Clements, Peter



Turner, Larry

Deputy Mayor


Connell, Graeme

resigned as Councillor effective 01/12/2015


Denholm, Peter



Kauppila, Sharon



Liu, Ken



Masters, Pip



Ricketts, Graeme



Tydeman, Cathie

resigned as Councillor effective 06/05/2018


Willson, Joy


Kangaroo Island Council | 43 Dauncey St (PO Box 121) KINGSCOTE SA 5223
Phone: 08 8553 4500 | Fax: 08 8553 2885 | Email:
Kangaroo Island Weather