Young Achiever of the Year

Young Achiever of the Year Awards

Kangaroo Island Council is committed to developing our young people, who are our future.  This Award recognises our young people's achievements in areas such as community work, sport, education, science, culture, the arts and the environment.


Young Achiever Awards 2019

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Young Achiever of the Year Awards and close 5.00pm Friday 7 June 2019 

This award is open to all young people aged between 12-25 years as of 27 July 2019 and are residents on Kangaroo Island.

Consideration will be given to a young person who has demonstrated leadership, dedication, significant personal achievement and their desire to achieve and be actively involved in their community.

Nomination forms can be downloaded here (editable copy).


Past recipients of the Young Achiver of the Year Awards
(presented 27 July - Settlement Day) 

  • 2018 Holly Mueke Young Achiever of the Year
    Outstanding Achievement in Community Service, Individual - Jai Turner
    Outstanding Achievement in Community Service, Group - The Gymastics Beginner Coaches
  • 2017 Matilda Southgate Young Achiever of the Year
    Outstanding Achievement in Community Contribution - Brock Niemann
    Outstanding Achievement in Sport - Damon Freitag
    Acknowledgement of Community Service - The Breakfast Club, Kingscote
  • 2016 Georgie Horjus (Outstanding Achievement in Sport)
  • 2015 James Snowball (Outstanding Academic Achievement), Seth Whale (Outstanding Youth Leadership)
  • 2014 Georgina Jefford (Outstanding Community Service), Rachel Church (Outstanding Sporting Achievement), Jayden Freitag - Young Entrepreneur and KI Youth Parliament Team 2014 - Community Youth Team (Mikayla West, Connor Hall, Aidan Hamilton, Alejandro Bohorquez and Jorrelie Avila-Letton)
  • 2013 Joint Winners Erin Morrison and Mikayla West and Group Winner Rock Eisteddfod Student Committee
  • 2012 Harley Dunstan and Justice Allison
  • 2011 Stephanie Richter and Sophie Lewis
  • 2010 Ruby Byass
  • 2009 Kate Buck
    Outstanding Community Service Award (Program) - KICE Sailing Team
    Outstanding Community Service Award (Individual) - Hannah Stephenson
  • 2008 Jenny Behenna
    Outstanding Community Service Award (Program) - KI Dolphin Watch
    Outstanding Community Service Award (Individual) - Daniel Willson
  • 2007 Tim Buck
  • 2006 Peter Tremaine
  • 2005 Maxine Breeding
  • 2004 Melissa Turner
  • 2003 Kingscote Area School Prize Winning Pie-making Team
  • 2002 Jasmin Lade
  • 2002 Outstanding Personal Achievement Award - Jenna Duffy
  • 2001 Bradley Jamieson
  • 1997 Brendon Lade


Kangaroo Island Council | 43 Dauncey St (PO Box 121) KINGSCOTE SA 5223
Phone: 08 8553 4500 | Fax: 08 8553 2885 | Email:
Kangaroo Island Weather